Japan wants to resume whaling, again

Il Giappone ha presentato l’ennesimo programma di caccia alle balene per scopi “scientifici” che prevede la soppressione di 314 cetacei per anno, per 12 anni.

Japan doesn’t stop and submits new whaling plans for scientific purposes starting from 2017. Despite the criticism from the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) and the International Whaling Commission, Japan could kill 314 whales every year, for 12 years, as of 2017.

humpback whale
A humpback whale © Getty Image

Japan increases its annual catch of whales

Japan plans to hunt 122 whales more than before, 72 common minke whales (Balaenoptera acutorostrata) and 50 sei whales (Balaenoptera boreali) more than the previous whaling program, the Newrep- A. The International Court of Justice (ICJ) in The Hague opposed Japan’s whaling for scientific purposes under the Whaling in the Antarctic verdict. The 2014 case is relevant today more than ever as the structure of Japan’s plan (Jarpa II) was judged not convincing from a scientific point of view.

humpback whale
A humpback whale © Getty Image

Not convincing whaling plans

Specifically, the objectives declared in the drawing-up phase weren’t consistent with the number and kind of animals killed. There’s more. Japan hasn’t provided any elements in favour of the fact that it had tried to avoid lethal methods, in order not to kill animals to carry out the scientific researches provided by the plan. In the new draft submitted to the scientific commission, Japan has claimed its will to hunt only two species – common minke whales and sei whales – off the coasts of Abashiri and Kushiro (Hokkaido) and Ishinomaki (Miyagi prefecture). The International Whaling Commission will assess Japan’s whaling plans in its annual meeting, scheduled for May 2017.

Translated by

Siamo anche su WhatsApp. Segui il canale ufficiale LifeGate per restare aggiornata, aggiornato sulle ultime notizie e sulle nostre attività.

Licenza Creative Commons
Quest'opera è distribuita con Licenza Creative Commons Attribuzione - Non commerciale - Non opere derivate 4.0 Internazionale.

Related articles